Driving under the influence in Texas can lead to serious penalties and a significant impact on your life. Whether this is a first offense or a repeated offense, you could face heavy fines, imprisonment and other penalties.
Regardless of the number of times you’ve face allegations of driving while impaired, you deserve an opportunity to defend yourself and minimize the impact on your life.
Know what to expect when you face charges
The first thing you need to do after being accused of a DWI is learn about the possible penalties that you could face, so you know what you need to defend against. For example, a first offense DWI in Texas comes with up to 180 days in jail upon conviction, and you could lose your license for up to a year. There is also a fine of up to $2,000.
Your defense may focus on getting the charge dismissed or lowered. For example, if you weren’t drunk but were reckless, dropping the charge to reckless driving, speeding or other citations may be beneficial and have less of an impact on your life.
Other times, you may want to focus on minimizing the penalties if a conviction is likely. For instance, since the fine may be up to $2,000, you may put together a defense to reduce the likelihood of facing a fine. Similarly, since jail time may be up to 180 days, then you will want to take steps to minimize the risk of facing any jail time at all.
Of course, the priority is to reduce the chances of facing any legal penalties at all and to try to get the charges dropped.
Reduce the impact of your DWI in your personal life
By addressing the legal implications of a DWI, you may be able to reduce the impact of a DWI in your personal life, too. While you’re still handling the case, it may be a good idea to stay quiet about the charges and only to discuss them when it’s necessary, such as if it’s required by your employer.
Minimizing discussion about the charges or a conviction can help you keep your reputation in better shape, giving you more opportunities as you move forward.