According to Texas law, synthetic marijuana is considered illegal and harmful. In recent years, this form of marijuana has featured in the list of the most common drug cases among adults. This is because most people think it is a safer alternative to natural marijuana.
Unlike possession, selling synthetic marijuana, no matter how small, attracts the same charge as manufacturing and distributing the drug. This makes it a serious offense in Texas that may attract heavy jail terms and fines. The penalties depend on the amount, of the drug found in your possession. Therefore, if you get charged with selling synthetic marijuana, you will suffer penalties as stipulated in Penalty Group 2-A.
Different charges under penalty group 2-A in Texas
If you are arrested with synthetic marijuana weighing 1 gram or less, you will be charged with a felony. This will bring a term of not less than 180 days, and not more than two years in a state jail. You may also attract a fine of not more than $10,000. An experienced attorney who handles drug cases can help you avoid these and the other penalties below.
For a drug weighing less than 4 grams but more than 1 gram, you may be charged with a second-degree felony, according to Texas Law. Under this charge, you could receive a term of not less than two years, but not exceeding 20 years in a state prison. You may also receive a fine of not more than $10,000.
You may be charged with a first degree felony if you are arrested with a drug weighing between 4 and 400 grams. This can land you a mandatory jail term of not less than five years, but not exceeding 99 years. You may also get a fine not exceeding $10,000.