In the state of Texas, you don’t need to be impaired behind the wheel of a car to get hit with a DUI or alcohol-related charge. You could be pulled over for boating under the influence or driving with an open container of alcohol, even if you’re not drinking from it. And if you have a minor in the vehicle, you’ll probably be facing additional charges. Here’s a rundown of the punishments for DUI charges.
What are the consequences for being charged with a DUI?
A first offense DUI charge can result in a $2,000 fine and up to 180 days in prison, as well as loss of your driver’s license for up to a year. If you’re on your second offense, you could receive a $4,000 fine, a year in prison and a two-year license suspension. When you reach your third offense, you might be looking at a $10,000 fine, ten years in prison and a two-year license suspension.
According to Texas law, a person is legally intoxicated when their blood alcohol level is .08 or higher. You don’t have to be driving a vehicle to receive a DUI–you could also be boating or flying an aircraft. Additionally, you could be charged with a crime if you have an open container of alcohol in your vehicle, regardless if you were drinking from it or not. You may also be charged with child endangerment if you have in a minor in the vehicle at the time of the DUI.
Do you need an attorney to fight a DUI charge?
If you’re convicted of a DUI charge your entire life could be turned upside down. You might not even be able to drive legally for the next two years. An attorney might be able to help you get your charges reduced.