Several states have legalized recreational marijuana, but Texas is yet to join the bandwagon. Therefore, it is necessary to understand the state laws, especially if you are visiting from a different jurisdiction or are unaware of the law in Texas.
Marijuana is largely illegal in The Lone Star State, and you could get in serious trouble with the law for being in possession of even a few ounces. Here are some of the legal penalties for possession of Marijuana in Texas.
You can face misdemeanor or felony charges
Possession of up to 2 ounces is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in prison and a fine of $2,000. Possessing 2 to 4 ounces could land you in county jail for up to a year and up to $4,000 in fines. Anything more than 4 ounces will result in felony charges where you could be in for several years and fined thousands of dollars if convicted
Possession of drug paraphernalia, even without marijuana itself, is also a crime in Texas. You will not get time in jail, but you may end up with a $500 fine and a criminal record.
Decriminalization laws exist in some counties
It is worth mentioning that certain local jurisdictions in Texas have decriminalized possession of small amounts of marijuana (2 to 4 ounces). While decriminalization does not make it legal to possess or use, it significantly reduces the potential penalties.
Preparing your defense
If you are facing drug possession charges, you should focus on the best way of avoiding a guilty verdict. However, this is not an easy feat. It takes a careful legal evaluation of the prosecution’s case and the evidence against you to achieve that.
Having an experienced team on your side will help you prepare an informed defense strategy that will increase your chances of beating the case against you.